Snow White and The Huntsman

Featuring: Charlize Theron, Kristen Stewart, Chris Hemsworth

Canadian Rating: PG

 

Here is my review of Snow White and Huntsman: the movie that was slightly more anticipated than Mirror Mirror.

I ended up watching this movie at the midnight showing, because Joel was very excited about this movie, and although I don’t do well without sleep, I had a little over half an Icee:

So what is the premise of the film? This is not an easy question to answer, since there wasn’t a whole lot of background. The beautiful but evil Ravenna (Charlize), usurps King Magnus (Snow White’s father) (Snow White is Kristen Stewart if you haven’t seen the commercials and have never heard of Twilight, which is commendable.) Snow White, who is only a child at this point, is immediately sent to prison and stays there until she is 18 when she escapes.

Ravenna’s powers are linked with her beauty, so she must always stay beautiful to stay in charge. Here they borrow a bit from Stardust, by having Ravenna “suck the youth” out of young women, turning them old and keeping her looking young.

I don’t mind saying that Hollywood has certainly not figured out how to make a young person look old without her looking scary as hell. If I see an old person, I don’t usually wonder if he or she is a zombie demon. But if you want to scare the Icee out of my hands, put gobs and gobs of unnatural fake wrinkles on Charlize Theron or Michelle Pfeiffer. Or…Winona Ryder from Edward Scissorhands. Night terrors!

But I digress. Ok, Youth = Power. So Ravenna sends the Huntsman (Chris Hemsworth) to go find Snow White.

Adventures, betrayal, drama, war, heartbreak and cute animals fill the rest of the movie.

What did I think?

Well, the adventures were awesome. I love a good plot with eventful transactions. (Thesaurus you are no help today). The different situations the group encounters are truly…(flip flip flip)…riveting. 

I have no complaints about the performances of the three main stars, and extra shout outs to Ravenna’s creepy brother Finn (Sam Spruell).         

Another thing I enjoyed about the film was the dark overtones. They kept it going through the whole movie, which I appreciated. Some dark movies will lose the feel halfway through, like an actor failing to keep up a fake accent through an entire play. But in this case I definitely felt the medieval chills and the overall dark times they were living in. So mood gets 100%!

My main problem with the film:

ALMOST ZERO CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT.

If you don’t develop Kristen Stewart, we’re just going to think she’s Bella in an alternate universe.

If you don’t develop Chris Hemsworth, we’re not going to care if he ends up marrying Snow Bella.

And most importantly, if you don’t develop  Charlize Theron, I’m not going to get into the movie at all. She is the center and face of Snow White and the Huntsman. She is supposed to be the main focus.

Evan Daugherty: But we showed you how evil she was!

Pertobello: Not good enough! All villains are evil. What else has she got for me? A childhood so horrific that I have mixed feelings about her possible defeat, but in the end it teaches us a good lesson about not making others suffer for our pain? She needed something like that to give her more depth.

Evan Daugherty: Well, I think you’re evil.

Pertobello: That is a whole other blog.

__

Anyway, here is my brain concensus:

Do not be afraid to rent it for a weekend afternoon.

Breakdown:

Story: 2/2

Character Development: 0/2

Graphics: 2/2

Score: 1/2

Writing: 1/2

6 Pertobellos out of 10

About pertobello

I live in Toronto but I'm from the east coast originally. I like photography, psychology, writing, pictures, the brain, literature and the creation of, taking snapshots, therapy (of myself and others), manuscripts, digital renderings of events and places, exploring the capablities and workings of the human mind, transcribing my thoughts and stories into a readable format. Wow I have an impressive list of interests!! cindy.pert@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Snow White and The Huntsman

  1. T. P. Lewis says:

    Glad you are getting mileage out of that thesaurus. When do we get the blog about how evil you are? Ha ha…

Leave a Reply

