Cindy’s Return to the Universe

Hello Friends and Well-Wishers,

I’ve been away for a long, long time. Partly this was due to getting engaged and planning a wedding. But mostly it was because I read on wordpress.com that in order to get lots of readership, you need to blog often. So I wrote 4 blogs, wham wham wham! Wham! And things were going great. It was really helping my stats! But I guess my circuits were overloaded by the overblogging, because for the next few months I took to staring at my computer, mouth ajar, eyes aglaze, lips asnarl and mind ablank, instead of you know, writing stuff.

Things I’ve been up to:

Marriage! Here are the pics by our wonderful and amazing friend @vitzter:

http://vito.smugmug.com/Weddings/Joel-Cindy/20974291_6CQMWt#!i=1666825713&k=bx88RRm

Maybe some of you have seen my tweets on the subject, but I’ve been watching a show called, “The Family Guy.”

Q: Family “what?”

A: Family Guy.

Q: Hmm, never heard of it.

A: I know, I think it was some Indie show there for awhile. Seems up and coming though!

Q: I’m just kidding. OF COURSE I’ve heard of it. YOU don’t know anything about it because all you watch all day is a one-eyed chick who will never realize how much she loves her idiot red-headed friend with a heart of gold!

A: SHE WILL REALIZE HOW SHE FEELS, SHE JUST NEEDS MORE TIME, OK!?

I MEAN, LOOK AT THE FANART:

Image

See?? They belong together!

Anyway, so I’ve been watching this new show called “Family Guy” and well, let me start from the beginning. When it first came out, I was not impressed at all.

I mean, a family with 3 kids, a boy, a girl and a baby? An oafish Dad and a more-than-obliging, patient wife?

Dad has his drinking buddies. Mom cleans the house and takes care of the kids.

Sounds very much like another show that was very popular around that time. A show that raised me, yes raised me like it was my own nanny. Babysitting me while one parent made supper and the other was still on their way home from work. A show that has decided my future for me, that I would be a Quoter of Simpsons, even in the most inappropriate of times. It has taken me years to undo the damage, and to learn to control my quotey impulses, especially the line, “I don’t have to be careful, I’ve got a gun!” in hotel lobbies.

Part of this was due to extreme fandom and exposure, because I’ve met many other fans who are the same as me. A situation occurs that reminds us both of a Simpsons scene and we look at each other and just say the quote. Another part is thanks to Tourette Syndrome, a syndrome that has many delightful facets. One being the ability to pick up lines, phrases and words that you enjoyed hearing, or that you’ve heard repeatedly, and allowing them to turn and turn in your head like your head is a dryer and then when the moment comes to say the line, BING the dryer’s done and all the clothes fly out and scatter all over the room. (It’s not a good dryer.)

Q: What is your favorite Simpsons quote?

A: It’s a toss up between this:

and this:

HAHAHA “Of course in Canada the whole thing’s flip flop”! Oh man! 

Ok moving on. I’m pretty sure I’ve successfully conveyed that my affection, love and obsession for the Simpsons is much more than just sentimental. 

So when Family Guy came along, I didn’t just feel challenged. Like, hey, there’s a new kid in town. I also felt angry that they used so much Simpsons material, AND because Peter was an even worse Homer. Like Seth MacFarlane just took Homer and made him 10 times worse than he already is, and Homer is already 100 times worse than any human should be! 

You are lucky I forgot how scientific notation works, otherwise I’d fill this blog up with, oh shoot I clicked “Paint” instead of “Calculator.”

 Image

But now, a whopping 12 years later, I have…I have warmed up to the characters. 

This is because they’ve actually developed the characters. The idea of an ingenius, evil baby trying to kill his mom every episode and failing because of a small coincidental slip up:

TIRESOME.

 Image

But the idea of an ingenius, slightly more mellowed out baby, quipping with the dog for 5 minutes straight, THAT I can get into!

Q: So, changing the subject, what are your plans for the future?

A: I was getting to that… 

Plans for the Future:

1. Join me in my quest to become a more regular blogger! Be my sidekick and, more realistically, my shoulder to cry on as I battle writer’s block.

2. Got some more juicy articles about ADHD coming up. I got some nice Unhelpful tips for you! That’s right, “what not to do,” unless you want to be really unproductive…which I know you do! 😉

3. An article about RomComs. This will take you through the amazing story of how I despised chick flicks, then slowly warmed up to Family Guy, er, I mean chick flicks. But then why I still distrust them. 

4. Relationship phobias: a series!

5. A movie review for the film Cowboys & Aliens.

Q: Why Cowboys & Aliens? 

A: Because I started it in September and I’ve been meaning to finish it. I will probably have to re-watch it first, because all I remember now is naked Olivia Wilde.

6. I finally know what my new novel is going to be about! My husband says I should most probably throw in some vampires, but I don’t like vampires at all. Although, I do want people to think, “hey that’s trendy. I should read it!” So I’m making it about clones. Is that ok? Ok, how about each clone gets a little vampire conscience that appears above the shoulder?

Speaking of novels, my fave Family Guy clip:

I look forward to our future together.

About pertobello

I live in Toronto but I'm from the east coast originally. I like photography, psychology, writing, pictures, the brain, literature and the creation of, taking snapshots, therapy (of myself and others), manuscripts, digital renderings of events and places, exploring the capablities and workings of the human mind, transcribing my thoughts and stories into a readable format. Wow I have an impressive list of interests!! cindy.pert@gmail.com
This entry was posted in ADHD, Psychology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cindy’s Return to the Universe

  1. Pingback: Reading Digest: Jealous of Canada Edition « Dead Homer Society

Leave a Reply

