The Lincoln Lawyer

Matthew McConaughey, Marisa Tomei, Ryan Phillippe

Canadian Rating: 14A

Reviewing The Lincoln Lawyer has forced me to finally learn how to spell “McConaughey.” I have been avoiding this for years.

This was a great movie. The Lincoln Lawyer pulls off CSI suspense without the stupidity of CSI. This movie hits the spot. It scratches that itch for an old-fashioned, court room drama. (That is, IF you had an itch for an old courtroom drama. I know I did!)

I miss old courtroom dramas.

One of my favorite movies is A Few Good Men. I find that when made well, they are more suspenseful than any other kind of film. This is because watching people speak in court is nerve wracking. Whether the character on the stand is lying, telling the truth, talking about puppies, chewing gum, covering up an assassination, or just insane, you feel the tension dripping down your back like a hot bead of sweaty guilt.

I love the problem solving between characters. I love it when ideas hit them when they are doing unrelated things like ordering coffee.

And now for my completely unbiased opinion of the Lincoln Lawyer.

Mick Haller (Matthew McConaughey) is a defense attorney for skeezy, druggie scums. He is great at what he does and because of this he causes lots of controversy about keeping the bad guys on the streets. Mick is divorced from co-worker Maggie (Marisa Tomei) who says that they have “different goals” with regard to “cleaning up the streets” of San Fransisco.

Mick is quick witted and smart-mouthed. He knows he can shake as much money as he wants out of his clients because they need him and they have lots of drug moneys anyway.

At first I was not sure how I would feel about Mick because smooth talking know-it-alls can get tiresome.

But I didn’t have to worry at all, because they did what I was hoping they’d do with him: give him a challenge that would make his life a living hell.

When someone is established at the beginning of the movie as being very good at their job, then they’d better be presented with a challenge unlike anything they have ever faced! And he really was!

Mick gets this client named Louis Roulet (Ryan Phillippe) who is charged with beating a girl who invited him over. Roulet swears he didn’t do it, and just as Mick and his partner Frank are starting to get a good handle on how to win this case, Mick discovers something shocking and downright flipping scary about Roulet…and I’m not telling what it is!

The trailer actually tells you the secret, but if you haven’t seen that and don’t know what it is, do wait till you see the movie. I was really surprised by it. I have not really seen Phillippe in much but he did a great job as a manipulative client with, shall I say, issues.

Even though we are dealing with lawyers, The Lincoln Lawyer has that human factor all the way through. McConaughey acted emotionally during some parts but still managed to keep it together and be strong when he needed to be. He played someone who handled situations like a reasonable, well educated person, who is of course still imperfect.

Good music. Good storyline. Good supporting actors. Good coffee. That I am drinking to stay awake while I write.

bye for now!

About pertobello

I live in Toronto but I'm from the east coast originally. I like photography, psychology, writing, pictures, the brain, literature and the creation of, taking snapshots, therapy (of myself and others), manuscripts, digital renderings of events and places, exploring the capablities and workings of the human mind, transcribing my thoughts and stories into a readable format. Wow I have an impressive list of interests!! cindy.pert@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Lincoln Lawyer

  1. Total enjoyment; fast, simple and compelling.

Leave a Reply

